New Year’s Resolute: Bury Them Deep

Standard

I felt the impression to write out a post based on the traditional resolution concept we share during this special occasion of a new year, but found a little less than wanted words, more stalling till a little bit later, where my inspiration for the post came from a message the missionaries shared with us after dinner. Funny thing is, the message the missionaries shared seemed to tag itself with an earlier photo I shared that appeared on my wall. I’m going to quote that photo now.

Accept what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be.

I shared this with a little personal touch, saying I was guilty for not being able to follow such simple principle in my life. I’ve always been a person that hasn’t had a chance to find personal peace with the mistakes I’ve made. I’ve never been the best at letting go. And the message the missionaries had today was based on that.

It came from the Book of Mormon, the story of a group of people known as the Anti-Nephi-Lehies, who made a mutual promise with God to cease the shedding of blood, and in order to keep their promise, to protect their integrity, they buried their weapons. It’s interesting how the king, named Anti-Nephi-Lehi, describes to his brethren and subjects what they needed to do.

We will hide away our swords, yea, even we will bury them deep in the earth.

Anti-Nephi-Lehi seems to emphasize that last point. I mean, of course when you bury something, you want it out of sight. But he says, we will even bury them deep.

I have my swords in my life. I have the need to bury them deep in the earth. The beautiful message of the Restoration, is to know there is a chance to bury them. There is a chance to get rid of the past. There is a chance to exercise faith in the future.

The key to making resolutions is staying resolute. The Anti-Nephi-Lehi people taught a powerful lesson after mentioning their promise, they stood resolute even unto their deaths. And those lives they sacrificed to keep their promise to God allowed many souls to awaken to Him and return to His love.

So, I say this from what the Spirit taught me, as a post for readers to ponder, and also for a post for me to reflect. I’m not the greatest example when it comes to letting things go and burying things in the earth to never ever take them up again, but they are good principles.

Happiness comes from moving forward, not staring over your shoulder!

Footnotes:

  • First Quote: Zig Ziglar’s Facebook Image Post, Dec 31, 2013
  • Second Quote: Alma 24:16

– Jeremy Unitt

Leave a Reply

