A MM&B Night – Moon, Mars, and Burglars

Standard

Two blog posts in one day? I must be down with the flu or something. Or two consecutive life changing events inspired by gospel understanding principles makes this a special occasion.

I had the chance to catch the lunar eclipse that took place where I live at 2 A.M.

And almost catch a thief in the process of breaking and entering.

My sister and I had made an early decision to see the first total lunar eclipse for this year, and there was a special bonus because it happened the same night as the closest approach of Mars to Earth in years.

Lunar eclipses occur when the moon is full and passes through part or all of the Earth’s shadow.

So the Red Planet and Blood Moon shone together. It was absolutely breathtaking. A powerful reminder of the wonders and marvels that this creation that was made specifically for us, is capable for us.

Don’t you know that? All these wonderful events, all these special phenomena that take place on the face, and outside the face of this earth, is specifically made for us. How special is that?

Sadly enough, as marvelous as it was, it didn’t instill the reverence that it has in the heart of one man I saw that same night.

After I had made several attempts to get my sister’s glasses from her room, she reported to me the suspicious appearance of a man who was walking down the street. I believed it was a mere runner or perhaps another stargazer, such as ourselves.

But as I was taking photos, she said softly, “there he is again.”

And I looked, stopping dead in my tracks.

The man was crouched, weaving in between the pockets of darkness that were made by the neighbor’s car off of the porch light, attempting to either break into the vehicle, or the house itself.

It didn’t take long for the both of us to figure out what was going on. And attempting my very best to not terrify my sister (I have no images to hold, I was truly fearful) I called 911 and explained the situation.

The man dressed in black took off running before the cops came to find him. And we were pretty upset.

But nothing feels better than to hear a police officer thank you, and tell you that you just stopped a burglary.

Lessons from this?

First, trust in the Lord, and act. If you see something going on that shouldn’t be happening, then do what you can to fix it. This includes calling in on suspicious activity. Each and every single one of us is engaged in a good cause, to better this society. One of those ways is allowing those who descend to the pits of criminal activity to find penance and redeem themselves by paying in full.

Second, don’t attempt a robbery during an astronomical event. Chances are, there will be people watching.

  • Jeremy Unitt
Leave a Reply

