From One Ancestor To Another – Temple Blessings

Standard

There are moments in life that defy human speech and words to describe them.

Moments such as the birth of a long awaited family member; a thank you hug for a gift, no matter how much it cost; a chance to truly appreciate a loved one; exist beyond the threshold of human description.

At times the best we can do is weep with these powerful emotions inside of us. Tears of joy and gratitude fall where words cannot go.

I had one of those moments today.

I had a chance to perform the endowment ordinance for my deceased grandfather. Through what has taken place, my grandfather has received a secured place at the presence of God, and if he so chooses, he can accept the gospel and receive that secured place as his own.

If it wasn’t for my paternal fourth great grandfather, who received the gospel lessons from Parley P. Pratt, my maternal grandfather would have had to go through a longer waiting period to receive the blessings offered through Christ.

I met my grandfather when I was a baby. I don’t remember it at all. But what I can appreciate is the sacrifices he made to give my mother the life opportunies she had. I’m grateful to him for that.

But in any other faith, because he didn’t accept Jesus Christ in this life, his eternal destiny was fixed at suffering.

But according to the restored gospel of Jesus Christ, it’s actually entirely and mercifully different. The truth declares those who heard not the message STILL HAS A CHANCE.

Luke 15 is a great illustration. I read it in the temple and wept, moved beyond words.

I’m so thankful for having had this opportunity to transfer the blessings of one ancestor to another. I’m so thankful for the mercy of God through His beloved son Jesus Christ.

It’s never too late for anyone.

– Jeremy Unitt

Leave a Reply

